News:

Welcome to Short Track Models!

Main Menu

Frankenmod W.I.P.

Started by Razorback 46, July 14, 2024, 11:28:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Razorback 46

So, many years ago, I bought a huge box of spare parts at a flea market. It had a lot of NASCAR parts which helped out tremendously as I was still pretty new to the hobby. I'm almost 37 now and I've been building for 20 years and decided that it was a good time to take some of those old spare parts as well as others I'd gathered over the years and create something akin to an old modified.

I'll preface this by saying I'm not 100% sure where some of these parts originally came from but I'll do my best. I believe the frame is from an old 50s truck. The engine is from an 80s Monogram GM NASCAR kit. The upper control arms are from a Monogram NASCAR T-Bird. I'm pretty sure the front steering linkage is from a Mustang low rider kit. The rear axle and leaf springs are from a Polar Lights Dodge Charger. Finally, the wheels are from a Kurtis Kraft Special kit.

TarheelRick

Really enjoy those parts box builds. Looks like you have a nice start. Will the body be scratchbuilt or are you going to use a kit body?
When I win the Powerball I will switch to the real ones.

Volzfan59

I'm going to keep up with this one. Looking forward to the next installment.
"Many men fish all of their lives without knowing it is not the fish that they are after." Henry David Thoreau

"I am, Sir, a brother of the angle" from the book The Compleat Angler. Izaak Walton 1653

Razorback 46

Quote from: TarheelRick on July 14, 2024, 12:04:41 PMReally enjoy those parts box builds. Looks like you have a nice start. Will the body be scratchbuilt or are you going to use a kit body?
Not sure yet. I've got a couple bodies I could use though.

Rattlecan Dan

You know how I like them old modifieds. I'll be watching this one come together. Pretty near all the old modifieds were franken-modifieds back in the day.

Razorback 46